ADA, AADR announce new EBD faculty award

The ADA and the American Association for Dental Research Feb. 14 announced the creation of the Evidence-Based Dentistry Faculty Award.

The award will acknowledge a dental faculty member who has made significant contributions to implement and advance evidence-based dentistry.

The recipient will receive a $1,000 award at the AADR Fall Focused Symposium in San Antonio, which will precede the ADA 2014—America’s Dental Meeting in October.

Applications are due June 30. Each dental school may submit a single application.

Requirements include ADA or AADR membership, employment as a full- or part-time faculty member at a U.S. dental school and completion of an EBD-related project within the past two years.

“Implementation of EBD into practice is essential to the translation of scientific findings to our patients,” said Dr. J. Leslie Winston, Ph.D., director, Global Oral Care Professional & Scientific Relations at Procter & Gamble. “There are talented individuals who are paving the way on how to accomplish this and the award is a great way to drive greater awareness of their successes.”

EBD focuses on providing personalized dental care based on the most current scientific knowledge. EBD integrates scientific evidence, the patient’s oral and medical condition, medical history and treatment preferences and the dentist’s clinical judgment.

A Procter & Gamble contribution supports the Evidence-Based Dentistry Faculty Award.

For additional eligibility requirements and application information, please contact Malavika Tampi at or 1-312-440-2511.

Secured By miniOrange